Wednesday, September 14, 2016

South Korea 2016 - Lighthouses

ISSUE DATE: 25 August 2016
STAMP SIZE:28 x 42 mm
STAMP DESIGN: Shin Jaeyong

Lighthouses not only offer navigational assistance to ships making their way over the water through the pitch-black night, but also are architectural works that create stunning scenery together with the blue seawater in the background.

Somaemuldo Lighthouse lights the way along the south waterway of Hallyeohaesang National Park. It was built in 1917, and its large lamp is visible at a distance of up to 48 kilometers. It has a lower wall and an observatory resting on a two-step stylobate made of natural stone. The white cylindrical lighthouse boasts an antique look on the hilltop. Another popular attraction of the island is the 80-meter waterway from Somaemuldo Island to Deungdae Island. Twice a day when the tide ebbs, a gravel crossing called “yeolmokgae” emerges from the water between the islands.

Eocheongdo Lighthouse is a crucial lighthouse for mariners plying the north-south route between Gunsan Port and the west coast. Completed in 1912 when Korea was under Japanese rule, it maintains the original look of early lighthouses. The lighthouse is a white cylindrical concrete structure with a distinct, red round roof. The light tower above is especially beautiful as it is supported by rafters traditionally used in Korean houses, or Hanok. The light from the lantern is visible at a distance of up to 37 kilometers, and the stone wall surrounding the lighthouse enhances the scenery.

Oryukdo Lighthouse not only serves as a guide to ships visiting Busan Port, the largest international seaport in Korea, but also is an iconic emblem of the port. It was initially built in 1937 to handle the substantially increasing volume of maritime traffic in and out of Busan Port at the time. The lighthouse was originally 6.2 meters in height, but it was demolished in 1988 and the 27.5 meter tower we see today was built in its place. The observatory inside is a great spot to enjoy the hustle and bustle of the port during the day, as well as the beautiful nightscape.

Ulgi Lighthouse is located in Ulgi Park, a seaside park well-known for spectacular views of pine forest and countless interestingly-shaped rocks along the coast, as well as cherry blossom tunnels in spring. Originally built in 1906 as a wooden tower six meters in height, it had been raised several times. Finally in 1987, after the surrounding pine forest blocked the view of the lighthouse, the new lighthouse we see today was built closer to the sea. The 24-meter tower has a candlestick-shape that tapers gradually upward before flaring outward near the top.

Stamp images and description thanks to Korea Post

South Korea Post